Shut Up and Listen: Throwback Thursday

recordplayer

I haven’t been finding much exciting new music lately. I don’t know if it’s the Motown zone I’ve been living in for the past few weeks, or what, but musically, I’ve been living in the past. Here are my ten favourite rediscoveries from this week:

Days Like This – Van Morrison

Aw yeah. I always get really into this song when the seasons change. I just feel like it fits.

1, 2, 3, 4 (Sumpin’ New) – Coolio

Hell yes I’m serious. It’s got a fun beat, it’s catchy and dancey, and it’s been my guilty pleasure headphone hit of the week. When was the last time you listened to Coolio?

dancefreshprice

Jealous Again – The Black Crowes

I F%$(#ING LOVE The Black Crowes.

Memphis – Chuck Barry and John Lennon (Bill Burr Voice-Over)

Just watch this. It’s not like the world really needed another reason to hate Yoko Ono, but this is just too priceless to ignore. Enjoy the absolute stupidity of Ono, and the comedic stylings of Bill Burr.

Love of My Life – Santana ft Dave Matthews

For whatever reason, the only CD in my father’s truck for as long as I can remember has been Carlos Santana’s Supernatural. Hearing the songs from that album is the musical equivalent of wrapping myself in baby blankets climbing into the back of a time machine to 1999-2006 in daddy’s Dodge. My unrequited love for Carlos Santana will never be quenched, and this collaboration with Dave Matthews, who stole my soul with Crash, and has never given it back.

Even though he cameoed in that horrible Adam Sandler movie in 2009. He was in House once, too!

davematthews

tumblr_mkcsevPjBp1rkistpo1_500

Uptight (Everything’s Alright) – Stevie Wonder

It wouldn’t be a post about music without some Motown! Stevie proves himself as a mainstay in my top 25, and tells a lovely story along the way.

Try – Janis Joplin

Mmmmmmm Woodstock video. Thanks to my pop music prof for reminding me of this song. When I was a kid I used to think Janis Joplin was the best.
Yeah, I’m still pretty much a kid, and I still think Janis Joplin is pretty much the best.

And, for the bitchy twenty-something-ish in you, enjoy:

thankyou

 

 

Leave a Reply

