10 Things I Should Have Experienced As a 90s Kid, But Didn’t

1. Full House. Yep, that’s right. I missed out on Uncle Jessie, John Stamos, the Olsen twins when they were cute, etc etc etc. I never even noticed what I was missing until the 7 and 8 year old children I babysat during high school (whose sisters had apparently been more televisually-educated than I) suggested it one night. And awwwwwwwwwww… it’s really cute. Check out buzzfeed’s list of little-known FH facts here.

90s1

2. Boy Meets World.  I grew up with a sister older by nine years, a brother younger by three, parents with relatively little interest in television, and a revolving door of American/Canadian satellite channel swaps. ABC sitcoms took a backseat to free Pay Per View. All I know is Topanga is a strange name. And there were boys. Very 90s-looking boys. And now there’s a sequel, and I kind of wish I cared.

90scapb

3. My So-Called Life. I was a Degrassi girl.

90scap

4. 7th Heaven. Didn’t like Jessica Biel in the 90s, don’t like her now. However, I appreciate the run of the show, and what it did for television. Even if basically everyone from the show went on to enjoy little more than short-lived supporting roles in series’ on a variety of varying-sized networks (No Ordinary Family, Secret Life of the American Teenager, Numb3rs, and Smallville, to name a few), they had a good run.

5. Lunchables. Alright, whether this is something I should have experienced as a kid, or something my fabulous parents managed to keep out of my system with healthy lunches, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a proper Lunchable. High-five to my parents for never copping out!

Lunchables

6. F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Considering the disgusting amount of random Friends trivia I know now, it blows my mind that I never saw the show while it was airing. I remember hearing kids talk in fifth grade, the glorious year of The Last One, discussing the trials and tribulations of the gang. All I ever knew was that there was a Chandler character, and it was either a man, or a woman.

90scapfr

7. Fruit snacks of any variety. Gushers, Fruit by the Foot, all that shit. None of that. I traded fruit to desperate children with bad teeth.

gushers

8. Furbies, Tamagatchis, Barbies, and other toy-related fads. For whatever reason, I never had (or really wanted, as far as I recall) any of the toys or electronicky stuff that I played with elsewhere. I had Bratz (I thought they were cooler than Barbies), a Skip-It (which still gets used), and like, a doll. I pride my child-self in my ability to not have loved weird shit.

9. Boy Bands. Honestly, I didn’t get into boy bands until I got into Justin Timberlake. I was familiar with the music, but I never the the whole posters-cds-concerts-and-all-that-freaking-out-ness. I like the music more now than I did then, and shamelessly.

10. Sunny D. The amount of Sunny D I guzzled at other people’s houses is unacceptable on every social, nutritional, and economic level.

90sd

Leave a Reply

