People You Should Listen to More of: Sara Bareilles

Follow her: @SaraBareilles
You’ll love her if you like: Quality, not quantity
Most recent release: A 5-song EP called “Once Upon Another Time”
You know her from: her catchy, 2007 #1 hit, “Love Song,” and 2010 hit “King of Anything”

MUST HEAR:
“Fairytale.” I have had a massive lady-talent-crush on Sara Bareilles for many years now, and this has always remained my favourite song of hers, and one of my favourite songs of all time. I will sing it anywhere, anytime, in any mood. She’s released a few versions of the song, but here’s the best (and coincidentally, my favourite):

.

It’s Sara and her piano at their absolute best, with clever and smart lyrics about the “real lives” of the women in the fairytales we grew up with.

Cinderella’s on her bedroom floor
She’s got a crush on the guy at the liquor store
Cause Mr. Charming don’t come home anymore, and she forgets why she came here
Sleeping Beauty’s in a foul mood
For shame she says, None for you dear prince, I’m tired today
I’d rather sleep my whole life away than have you keep me from dreaming

Sara Bareilles hits her stride with her elegance and clarity. Her voice is strong, her lyrics are beautiful, accurate, and absolutely belt-it-out worthy. It’s her honest, amazing lyrics that drew me in, and her passion and bluesy soul that comes with each performance that makes her so intoxicating and addicting. My final recommendations from Sara’s jazzy and unique portfolio include all my favourites:
“Many the Miles”
“Gravity”
“Bottle It Up”
“Sweet as Whole”
“Bright Lights and Cityscapes”

Sara Bareilles is one of those artists that is so genuine, so interesting and different, that you can’t help but want to support her and spread the word. She’s worth your time, I promise!

Leave a Reply

